Uncategorized

The Power of Sleep

 

“Sleep helps you win at life.” -Amy Poehler

I love the topic of sleep and I am pretty passionate about it. I have struggled with sleep my whole life and I used to not really care about it, but in more recent years I’ve learned that sleep makes a HUGE difference in my happiness and energy levels. So in 2015 I decided that “Early to bed” would be my theme for the year and I have improved so much in the sleep department since then! I love studying about sleep and trying new things to help myself and my family sleep better.
The Sleep Revolution book coverI recently read The Sleep Revolution and there was a ton of great information in there. I’ll share a few of my favorite quotes from the book:

>> “Sleep affects our mental health every bit as profoundly as it does our physical health. Sleep deprivation has been found to have a strong connection with practically every mental health disorder that we know of, especially depression and anxiety.” -Arianna Huffington, pg 28

>> “What is fatigue? It is nature’s notice that you have done enough.” –Harvey Washington Wiley, pg 61

>> “There are endless flashing lights and signposts telling us we have a medical problem – after all, there are billions of dollars to be made by getting us to believe that sleeping pills are the answer to our sleep deprivation. Yet what we really have is not a medical problem but a lifestyle problem.” -Arianna Huffinton, pg 67

>> “I would stress three words: calm the mind. If we can’t slow our thoughts and disengage out minds from the daily stress and strain we experience, we have little chance of getting restful sleep. Strategies for doing this will vary from person to person, but yoga and meditation are good options.” –Jennifer Ailshire, UCS professor of gerontolty, pg 211

>> “If you are having a lot of trouble sleeping, your body may be trying to tell you something about the way you are conducting your life. As with all other mind-body symptoms, this message is worth listening to.” –Jon Kabat-Zinn, founder of Mindfullness-Based Stress Reduction, pg 210

>> “I usually do a short meditation before I go to sleep where I reflect on the day and express my gratitude for the opportunities I’ve been given to help others and make a difference. When I wake up, I also reflect on how I can best serve others in the various meetings and events I have scheduled that day.” –Richard Davidson, neuroscientist at the University of Wisconson, pg 214

>> “…emotions like kindness and gratitude help us sleep because they have a calming effect on the mind and reduce disturbing emotions.” -Arianna Huffington, pg 214

>> “I tried to go from being an amateur, one who simply crashed every night and hoped for the best, to being a sleep pro. According to Steven Pressfield, the author of Turning Pro, when we turn pro, things because much simpler.” -Arianna Huffington, pg 218

>> “It is a common experience that a problem difficult at night is resolved in the morning after the committee of sleep has worked on it.” –John Steinbeck, Sweet Thursday, pg 110

>> “When we walk through the door of our bedroom, it should be a symbolic moment that marks leaving the day, with all of its problems and unfinished business, behind us.” -Arianna Huffington, pg 211

I have more to say on this topic so stay tuned!…….

2 thoughts on “The Power of Sleep

  1. Sleep is usually pretty easy for me. When I have troubles I picture a white piece of paper and just stare at it until I get bored. It’s weird. I like your lavender oil trick.

    Like

Leave a Reply

