Uncategorized

The Power of Sleep – Part 2

The Sleep Revolution book cover

“We need to rethink sleep as a core family value.” –Tom Rath, pg 168

I wanted to share a few more quotes from The Sleep Revolution about the importance of sleep for kids. I’m a big believer in kids getting the sleep that they need. I love the idea that sleep should be a ‘core family value.’ Seriously, just think if we were all getting enough sleep everyone would be so much happier, more patient and healthier too! In the book it mentions that sleep deprivation leads to getting sick more often (like with the common cold), as well as even bigger health concerns such as heart attack, stroke, diabetes, and obesity.  Yikes! I think we need to really make sure our families are getting the sleep that we need!

>“Children are taught early on that sleep is something to avoid as long as possible- a sword of Damocles hanging over their heads every night- and that with sleep comes the end of play and fun. What a terrible message to send! We need to do a much better job of framing sleep in a positive way for our children, letting them know that sleep is a vital part of being able to play and have fun, and teaching them healthy sleep habits, including naps and transitions to bedtime, that will last a lifetime.” -Arianna Huffington, pg 169

>“When adults don’t get enough sleep, they feel and look tired. For kids, the opposite is true- sleep deprivation can actually make them hyperactive and can lead to a diagnosis of ADHD.” -Arianna Huffington, pg 38

A few sleep tips that work for me:

-I go to bed early (I sleep better when I go to bed early and get up early)

-I dim the lights when it gets closer to bed time

-I turn my phone OFF early. My goal is usually about 8pm. I don’t always do this, but I try!

-I charge my phone in the kitchen and not in my bedroom. (One of Arianna’s biggest sleep tips is to get all of your technology out of your bedroom at least 30 minutes before bed.)

-I use white noise (like a fan).

-When I’m trying to fall asleep I focus on my breathing and trying to slow it down. I also notice any tense areas in my body and try to relax them (like my neck and shoulders).

I’m still adapting and changing my nighttime routine. I’d love to get in the habit of reading a book for a few minutes before I go to bed. I’d also love to try dropping a little lavender oil on my pillow before I go to sleep.  I’d like to try meditation before I sleep too. I’m still learning more about that so I’ll have to keep you updated on how that goes…

***Do you have any sleep tips that work for you and your family? I’d love to hear!

2 thoughts on “The Power of Sleep – Part 2

  1. I really need to do better ay this! I get so stressed that there is sho much to do. That i stay up WAY too late and then I’m regretting it the next day but it has turned into a nasty habit! I like how you made a goal to do better! I think i need to do this too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

