Uncategorized

My Morning Routine

A few months ago I decided enough was enough! I was wasting too much precious time in my mornings and evenings, and I was ready to make a change.

I decided to simply write down what I want my perfect morning and evening to look like during this season of my life. I typed it up and put it on my wall, and guess what, it has helped so much! I don’t know why, but when I actually write out a game plan for myself it makes all the difference. Instead of just wasting my time in my mornings and evenings, I have a plan in place and for the most part I stick to it. I feel like I’m running my life instead of my life running me!

I keep my routines really simple and flexible, cuz hello, kids! I never know what’s going to be thrown at me at any given time (figuratively or literally, ha!). I thought I would share my routine here in case it might help anyone.

20170226_155155

Morning Routine:

Pray

Meditate (What am I grateful for today? Who can I help today?)

Scriptures – I read with this question in my mind: “How can I better teach my children?” (I have totally changed my scripture study about 6 months ago and I get SO MUCH MORE out of reading now than I ever have before. Sometime soon I’ll share more!)

Read! – I LOVE this part of my morning! After I finish gleaning what I need to glean from my scriptures for the morning, then I read an uplifting book of my choice. Right now I’m reading The Happiness Advantage. I have been able to read more books this way, by scheduling it into my day. I LOVE reading, and it is so enjoyable to read in silence every morning. I love the peace and quiet I get in the mornings that I don’t get any other time of the day.

Get ready – I get dressed and ready for the day before my kids get up. And by dressed, I mean exercise clothes,but hey, that’s still better than pj’s or the good ol’ bathrobe! 😉

Family Scripture Study

Breakfast

Morning chores – I listen to a conference talk while I work. (I listen to a conference talk first, and then I listen to podcasts.)

Exercise – This usually happens during my baby’s morning nap. The other two kids are pretty good at playing while I exercise. I’ve had to train them that I get 30 minutes of exercise time uninterrupted, and then they can ask me to do all the things for them again when I’m done :).

 

I remember reading some advice a mother gave her daughter when she became a new mom. She said that every morning she gets up early (BEFORE the kids wake up) and spends time on herself (reading scriptures, exercising, and getting ready for the day). Then she forgets about herself and gets to work, focusing on her family and other duties for the day. I’ve always remembered that advice, and I’ve finally started doing it consistently myself, and man, it makes all the difference.

 

I love hearing other people’s morning routines.

Do you do anything that I don’t do that I should start doing?? I’d love to hear!

P.S. A great book about morning routines is Miracle Morning by Hal Elrod 🙂

 

One thought on “My Morning Routine

Leave a Reply

